Looking for Support…

Index Support Center Forums Diagnosis Process Looking for Support…

• This topic has 2 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 2 months, 3 weeks ago by Natdoc. This post has been viewed 129 times
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Participant
    @sleepy_in_seattle

Hello all,

I apologize if this turns into a long babble. Basically, I’ve been struggling with EDS for as long as I can remember, even through high school I had to nap often (I’m 22 now), but this has gotten much worse over time. Over the past 1-2 years, my sleepiness started to interfere with my daily activities. I’m a neuroscience student, and I also work part-time, and I have a really hard time accomplishing the bare minimum. I recently went through the diagnosis process, however, as I have anxiety and have experienced seasonal depression, I am on Buproprion and Escitalopram. This obviously clouded things, as these drugs suppress REM, and it made the doctor suggest that my sleepiness was due to mental health problems (this is frustrating as I don’t believe that’s true). I also had a hard time falling asleep during the polysomnogram/MSLT as I was just so dang uncomfortable. If only my Dr. could see my brain waves each day, while trying to get through daily activities and while falling asleep in class, at coffee shops, on the bus, etc., just from closing my eyes for a moment. Therefore, my Dr. could only give me a POSSIBLE diagnosis of narcolepsy. She recommended that I start a low dose of Ritalin to get the sleepiness under control, but I declined as I know the abuse potential of these drugs and what they could do to my anxiety levels. I’ve been trying to take scheduled naps and establish a sleep routine, but nothing is helping. I’m having a really hard time getting through school, and have an internship at Harvard coming up and it would SUCK if I couldn’t be alert. Anyway, just looking for some insight from people with more knowledge about my diagnosis as w